Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Poetry prize deadline approaches

The deadline for submissions to this year's (29th) Frogmore Poetry Prize is fast approaching (31 May 2015). Adjudicator John McCullough, author of the highly acclaimed The Frost Fairs, will read all the entries and the entire shortlist of ten will be published in the September issue of The Frogmore Papers.

This year's winner will join a distinguished list which includes Caroline Price, John Latham, Tobias Hill, Mario Petrucci, Gina Wilson, Ross Cogan, Ann Alexander, Katy Darby, Howard Wright, Sharon Black, Emily Wills and Lesley Saunders.

Full detail of how to enter (no entry form required) can be found at

Also on the Poetry PF website:

Thursday, 2 April 2015

The Needlewriters anthology launched at Needlemakers in Lewes, and other news

Cover art by Mary Anne Aytoun-Ellis
The latest Frogmore publication The Needlewriters was launched at the Needlemakers in Lewes on 26 March 2015. The anthology contains poetry and prose by writers from Kent and Sussex who have read at the Needlewriters' quarterly events since 2008, including Peter Abbs, John Agard, Sasha Dugdale, Vanessa Gebbie, Lee Harwood, VG Lee, Patricia McCarthy, Grace Nichols, Nicholas Royle, Joe Sheerin, Catherine Smith, Lorna Thorpe, Jackie Wills and 40 others.

Also launching at the event was the online Needlewriters Companion.

Frogmore Papers editor Jeremy Page will be reading at the next Needlewriters event on 9 April with poet Judith Cair and novelist Jon Walter.

The Needlewriters anthology is available post-free from The Frogmore Press or Skylark in the Needlemakers, Lewes. Price £10.