Sunday, 1 July 2012

Frogmore Poetry Prize 2012 results

Part-time Gloucestershire GP Emily Wills has been awarded this year’s Frogmore Poetry Prize (the 27th) by adjudicator Janet Sutherland for her poem ‘Island’. Emily is the author of two collections of poems Diverting The Sea (The Rialto, 2000) and Developing The Negative (The Rialto, 2008).  She won the Lisa Thomas Poetry Prize in 2010.  See

Emily Wills, winner of the Frogmore Poetry Prize 2012
First runner-up is singer/songwriter and poet Virginia Astley for her poem ‘The Curative Harp’.  Virginia has a very impressive track record as a singer/songwriter and founded the legendary Ravishing Beauties, who toured with The Teardrop Explodes in the 1980s.  A remastered version of her debut album From Gardens Where We Feel Secure was released in 2003.  See

Second runner-up is Melinda Lovell for her poem ‘Yellow Yolks’.  Melinda lives in a small hamlet in the Auvergne, South West France, where she co-founded poetry chapbook publishing house Inchivala Press in 2003.  See

Other poets shortlisted for the two-hundred guinea prize were Jo Bell, Dorothy Fryd, Abegail Morley, Derek Sellen, John Whitworth and Howard Wright.  All shortlisted poems will be published in the celebratory 80th number of The Frogmore Papers in September.  Available post-free from The Frogmore Press, 21 Mildmay Road, Lewes BN7 1PJ for £5.00.

No comments: