Saturday, 30 August 2014

Verral's September return to Lewes

Frogmore editor Jeremy Page's play Verral of The White Hart will be performed at The White Hart, 55 High Street, Lewes, on Sat 26 and Sun 27 September at 6.45pm

A play and supper celebrating an 18th century Lewes ‘food hero’. William Verral was cook and master of the White Hart who is widely credited for introducing Britain to the cookery of aristocratic France. Verral wrote a recipe book, A Complete System of Cookery, published in 1759. The play Verral of The White Hart is written by Jeremy Page, and is based on an original idea by John Kenward (Kenward’s 1980 – 1991). 

Produced and directed by Synergy Theatre, who brought Hendrik’s Feast to Octoberfeast 2013, the play will be performed in the Sherriff’s Room in the White Hart followed by an optional two-course dinner using recipes from Verrall’s book.

Tickets from Synergy Theatre. Please book by phone: 01273 301444.
 £10 for performance only. £25.00 to include dinner (limited places)

Tuesday, 1 July 2014

Lesley Saunders wins Frogmore Poetry Prize 2014

Adjudicator Abegail Morley has awarded this year’s Prize to Lesley Saunders for her poem ‘Torc’. Abegail says of this poem: ‘It has precise, exquisite language; the word choice is perfect and the poet is completely in control. It is a tight, rich, well-observed piece that was always near to the top of my pile.’

First runner-up is Beth Somerford with ‘For the Children’, a poem described by Abegail as ‘simple, yet complex and multi-layered; a truly visceral piece that captures the physical perfectly.’

Second runner-up is Mark Fiddes with ‘In the Valley of the Fallen’ – a poem that ‘makes you sit bolt upright’.

Other poets shortlisted were Neil Elder with ‘Open-Plan’, Richard Hughes with ‘Wee Wee Hours’, Martin Malone with ‘Truman on Ischia’, Helen Overell with ‘Shelter’, Vivienne Tregenza with ‘Water Bearer’ and Josie Turner with ‘The Small Hours’.

All shortlisted poems will be published in the September issue of The Frogmore Papers, available post-free from The Frogmore Press, 21 Mildmay Road, Lewes BN7 1PJ at £5 per copy.

Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Frogmore Papers to be celebrated in North London on 5 June

Thirty-one years of The Frogmore Papers will be celebrated at a special event under the auspices of Haringey Literature Live.

The evening will include founding editor Jeremy Page reading from his recently published Pindrop collection of poems Closing Time; Fiona Moore reading from her HappenStance pamphlet The Only Reason for Time; Jeremy Worman reading from his new short story collection Swimming with Diana Dors; and Canadian poet Nancy Mattson reading recent work.
Former Frogmore editor Kate Pemberton will host an open mic session.

The event is free and starts at 7.30 p.m.. For details see:

Sunday, 18 May 2014

Frogmore Poetry Prize 2014 - submission deadline 31 May!

A gentle reminder that it is now less than two weeks until the submission deadline for this year's Frogmore Poetry Prize.
This year the prize is adjudicated by Abegail Morley, whose first collection How to Pour Madness Into a Teacup (Cinnamon, 2009) was shortlisted for a Forward Prize.
The winner will receive 250 guineas. Results will be announced in early July.
Details here:

Monday, 21 April 2014

Frogmore poets read at Torriano Meeting House

More than twenty HappenStance poets recently read at a unique event at the Torriano Meeting House, Kentish Town, London. A packed house heard readings from numerous contributors to The Frogmore Papers, among them
  • Gill Andrews
  • Clare Best
  • Sally Festing
  • Eleanor Livingstone
  • Fiona Moore
  • Jeremy Page
  • D. A. Prince
  • Matthew Stewart
  • Marion Tracy
  • Gina Wilson
and HappenStance's presiding spirit Helena Nelson. Collectively the readings told the story of HappenStance from its debut publication (by Eleanor Livingstone) in 2005, concluding with a foretaste of D.A. Prince's new collection Common Ground, which will be published later this year.

Sunday, 20 April 2014

Frogmore poets launch new collections in Lewes, 30 April 2014

Save the date! On 30 April 2014, 7.30 pm in the Elephant & Castle, LewesFrogmore contributor Janet Sutherland and editor of the Frogmore Papers Jeremy Page will launch their new collections of poetry. All warmly invited. This is a free event, no need to book.

Link to the Facebook event HERE.
Address, map and directions to the Elephant & Castle HERE.

Saturday, 8 March 2014

Frogmore Poetry Prize 2014 - Deadline for submissions is 31 May

May 31, 2014 is the deadline for submission of poems for this year's Frogmore Poetry Prize.

Now in its 28th year, the Prize has been awarded annually since 1987. Previous winners include Tobias Hill, Mario Petrucci, Howard Wright and Sharon Black. Emily Wills won the Prize in both 2012 and 2013.

This year's adjudicator is Abegail Morley. The winner will receive the sum of two hundred and fifty guineas.
Full details at or see conditions below.

Conditions of Entry
  1. Poems must be in English, unpublished, and not accepted for future publication.
  2. Poems should be typed and no longer than forty lines.
  3. Any number of poems may be entered on payment of the appropriate fee of £3 per poem.   Cheques and postal orders should be made payable to The Frogmore Press
  4. The following methods of payment are acceptable: cheque drawn on UK bank; British postal order; sterling.  
  5. Each poem should be on a separate sheet, which should not include the name of the author.
  6. The author’s name and address should be provided on an accompanying sheet of paper.
  7. The winner, runners-up and shortlisted poets will be notified by post. All shortlisted poems will appear in number 84 of The Frogmore Papers (September 2014), which will be available at £5.00 from the address below, and on the Frogmore Press website.          
  8. To receive a copy of the results, please enclose an s.a.e. marked ‘Results’.
  9. Poems cannot be returned.
  10. Closing date for submissions: 31 May 2014.
  11. Copyright of all poems submitted will remain with the authors but the Frogmore Press reserves the right to publish all shortlisted poems.
  12. The adjudicator’s decision will be final and no correspondence can be entered into.
  13. Entries should be sent to: The Frogmore Press, 21 Mildmay Road, Lewes, East Sussex BN7 1PJ.
  14. The submission of poems for the Prize will be taken as indicating acceptance of the above conditions.